Do I Like Who I Am Right Now?

This question can be deeper than meets the eye, and I challenge you to answer this for yourself in the comment section or even in your own post.

Physically: I don’t hate myself by any means, I believe I could lose some weight and be more focused on living a healthy lifestyle.

This shirt used to be much tighter, but I still have a little further to go.

I try to stay away from junk food, but sometimes I swear it follows me, and whispers in my ear. Chips, soda, pizza, and many other common gas station foods.. those are what get me.

I get on the treadmill every couple days, and either do just a mile, or I run for a full 20 minutes.

I feel like I used to tell people ‘oh yeah, I get on my exercise bike every couple days while watching tv’. I was definitely over exaggerating how much the bike was used, most days it was more of a decoration in the living room.

But I am happy to say that since July, I have been more focused on fitness, and I have found myself becoming more dedicated.

Emotionally – yes, I like myself. Everything seems to be going right for us lately, and I find myself smiling much more often because of all the positive moments we’ve had this year.

This year alone we have crossed off so many of our long term goals, that it feels like we weren’t dreaming big enough.

We no longer work weekends, and find ourselves enjoying the extra time we have together, and I think that has been the most important change made.

Starting this winter we are going to be away for 6 months, and it is going to be a huge change, but I believe that it will help us grow so much closer to each other. We will have the ability to get out more often, and do things we haven’t had time for.

While we are away from home this winter, we are going to work on expanding our business, so there will be time that we are going to still be focused on getting things done, but it won’t be nearly as stressful and tiring as our lives have been for the last few years either.

The simple question and answer:

Do I like who I am right now?

Yes, I like who I am. I have made many improvements to myself in the last few years, and am starting to experience a fruitfull life.

Do I Like Who I use to be?

No, I would be embarrassed to go back to my old self, but in the end it did somehow result in who I am today.

Published by hikesblog

My name is Dan Brandis. I am obsessed with hiking and sharing unforgettable experiences. You can also find me at Facebook.com/newenglandhikes

Leave a comment